Section 01Executive Intelligence Assessment

July 2026 was defined less by any single breach than by a structural shift: the interval between public technical disclosure and mass exploitation collapsed to days or hours. Adobe ColdFusion CVE-2026-48282 saw exploitation attempts within minutes of a watchTowr technical write-up.[12] SharePoint CVE-2026-50522 was successfully exploited in watchTowr honeypots hours after a public proof-of-concept appeared.[8] ServiceNow CVE-2026-6875 went from patch to in-the-wild payloads in five days.[15] For defenders, "patch within 30 days" is no longer a defensible posture for internet-facing management planes.

Three developments carry strategic weight beyond their immediate technical impact. First, the SharePoint machine-key theft pattern matured into a repeatable playbook: four distinct SharePoint CVEs were confirmed exploited within roughly one month, with at least three used to extract ASP.NET ValidationKey/DecryptionKey material that lets an attacker forge authentication tokens after the patch is applied.[8][9] Patching without key rotation leaves the intruder in place.

Second, Hugging Face disclosed what appears to be the first publicly documented end-to-end intrusion of a major AI platform conducted by an autonomous agent system, executing "thousands of individual actions across a swarm of short-lived sandboxes" over a weekend.[2] This moves agentic AI from the "assists attackers" category into "conducts the operation."

Third, a multi-agency US advisory was updated on 22 July to expand the scope of Iranian-affiliated targeting of internet-exposed programmable logic controllers, with victim organizations reporting manipulated PLC project files, deceptive HMI/SCADA displays, operational disruption and direct financial loss across Water and Wastewater, Energy, and Government Facilities sectors.[16][17] This is confirmed physical-process interference, not espionage positioning.

Section 02Key Judgments

Analytical conclusions with explicit confidence levels. These are assessments, not facts — the underlying facts are cited in the sections that follow.

KJ-1 — SharePoint on-premises is the single highest-priority remediation target this month

Priority: CriticalConfidence: High

Four separate SharePoint CVEs were confirmed exploited within a month (CVE-2026-45659, CVE-2026-56164, CVE-2026-58644, CVE-2026-50522).[9] The consistent post-exploitation objective — machine-key theft for durable token forgery — means the population of "patched but still compromised" servers is likely non-trivial.

Why High confidence: Multiple independent confirmations (CISA KEV entries, Microsoft advisories, watchTowr and Defused honeypot telemetry, four separate vendor write-ups). No source contradicts the pattern.

KJ-2 — Public PoC release is now a reliable predictor of exploitation within 72 hours for internet-facing enterprise software

Priority: CriticalConfidence: High

Three independent July cases: ColdFusion (minutes after write-up),[12] SharePoint CVE-2026-50522 (hours after PoC),[8] ServiceNow CVE-2026-6875 (five days after patch, following a same-day technical disclosure).[15]

Why High confidence: Three separate vulnerabilities, three separate vendors, three separate telemetry providers (KEVIntel, watchTowr, Defused) reporting consistent patterns within one month.

KJ-3 — Cryptographic supply-chain provenance (Sigstore/SLSA) does not survive CI identity compromise

Priority: HighConfidence: High

The AsyncAPI npm compromise produced malicious packages carrying valid Sigstore and SLSA provenance signatures, because the attacker compromised the CI identity rather than forging signatures.[21] Organizations treating provenance attestation as a sufficient trust control have a blind spot.

Why High confidence: Directly documented with technical specifics by GitGuardian; mechanism is logically sound and independently reproducible in principle.

KJ-4 — Agentic AI intrusion capability is now demonstrated, but its prevalence is unknown

Priority: HighConfidence: Moderate

The Hugging Face incident is a first-party disclosure of an autonomous agent conducting full intrusion lifecycle.[2] However, a single disclosed case does not establish a trend, and we have no independent visibility into how many similar operations went undetected or unreported.

Why Moderate confidence: The incident itself is high-confidence (victim's own detailed disclosure). The broader prevalence judgment is moderate — n=1 publicly documented.

KJ-5 — Ransomware ecosystem fragmentation continues; no single group dominance

Priority: HighConfidence: Moderate

146 groups were publicly active as of June 2026, with Qilin and The Gentlemen trading the top position through July at roughly 300 Q2 victims each.[22][23] Leak-site counts are self-reported by criminals and systematically unreliable.

Why Moderate confidence: Underlying data comes from leak-site monitoring, which criminals inflate, duplicate, and re-list. Directionally sound; precise figures should not be treated as census data.

Section 03Collection Scope & Methodology

What was actually done, stated plainly, including the limits.

Reporting window. 1 July 2026 – 23 July 2026. The originally requested window extended to 26 July; as of the publication date those dates had not yet occurred, and this report does not speculate about them. The window will be extended by update if warranted (see §20).

Collection method. Structured keyword sweeps across vulnerability, ransomware, nation-state, breach, supply-chain, OT/ICS, AI-threat, law-enforcement and regional domains, followed by targeted full-text retrieval of primary and high-value secondary sources. Every claim in this report traces to a numbered entry in the Evidence Register.

Honest limitation on source count

This report does not claim 200–300 fully reviewed sources. Doing so would require asserting that every source surfaced during collection was individually opened and read, which is not the case.

What is true: 97 distinct sources are cited as evidence below (75 from the original 1–23 July sweep, 22 added 26 July in the §21 addendum); roughly 118 distinct source organizations appeared across all collection sweeps; and a smaller subset was retrieved in full text for verification. Precise figures are in §19. An inflated count would undermine the one thing a CTI product must have — the reader's ability to trust its numbers.

Verification standard applied. Government/CERT publications and vendor advisories were treated as primary. Security-vendor original research was treated as primary for its own telemetry and secondary for claims about third parties. Where sources conflicted, the conflict is reported at the point of use rather than resolved silently, and the competing figures are shown so the reader can judge.

Distinctions maintained throughout. This report separates: vulnerability existspublic PoC existsscanning observedexploitation attemptedcompromise confirmedexploitation attributed. These are not interchangeable, and conflating them is the most common failure mode in vulnerability reporting.

Section 04Priority Intelligence Matrix

Analytical priority reflects urgency for a typical mid-size enterprise SOC — it is not a restatement of CVSS. A CVSS 10 flaw in software you do not run is not your Critical.
↔ Scroll to see the full chart
High impact Med impact Low impact PoC / disclosed Exploitation observed Confirmed compromise SharePoint ×4 Iran PLC / OT ColdFusion 48282 Oracle EBS 46817 HuggingFace agent Check Point 16232 ServiceNow 6875 GhostLock 43499 wp2shell npm/PyPI ×4 DD-WRT 2021-27137 Cisco IOS 2008-4128
Fig. 1 — Analytical priority matrix. Horizontal axis is evidence of exploitation, not severity. Items at right require incident response, not just patching.

Section 05Strategic Threat Developments

The three developments with implications beyond their immediate technical scope.

5.1 — The SharePoint machine-key playbook

Between mid-June and 22 July, four distinct on-premises SharePoint vulnerabilities were confirmed exploited in the wild.[9] The technical details differ, but the post-exploitation objective converged: extract the ASP.NET machine keys (ValidationKey and DecryptionKey) that SharePoint uses to sign and validate __VIEWSTATE and authentication material.

The operational consequence is what makes this strategic rather than routine. An attacker holding valid machine keys can mint authentication tokens that the patched server will still accept. Remediation therefore requires a sequence — hunt, evict, then rotate — because rotating keys while an attacker retains code execution simply hands them the replacement.[10]

↔ Scroll to see the full chart
1. Exploit deserialization / auth bypass 2. RCE code exec in w3wp.exe context 3. Key theft ValidationKey + DecryptionKey 4. Token forgery valid __VIEWSTATE impersonation SURVIVES the patch Patching alone breaks step 1–2 only. Steps 3–4 persist until keys are rotated — after eviction, not before.
Fig. 2 — Why "we patched" is an incomplete answer for SharePoint this month. Chain reconstructed from CISA, Microsoft and vendor reporting.[8][9][10]

5.2 — Microsoft's record Patch Tuesday

Microsoft's 14 July release addressed 570 vulnerabilities — including 59 rated Critical — and three zero-days: CVE-2026-56155 (AD FS elevation of privilege, exploited), CVE-2026-56164 (SharePoint elevation of privilege, exploited), and CVE-2026-50661 (BitLocker security feature bypass, publicly disclosed but not observed exploited).[1] Microsoft attributed the volume increase to an internal AI-powered vulnerability discovery system.[1]

Analytical note — read this number carefully

A 570-CVE month is not straightforwardly bad news. If the increase genuinely stems from automated internal discovery, it reflects vendor-side flaws being found before attackers reach them. The operationally meaningful figure is the zero-day count (3), not the headline total. Treating 570 as a threat metric rather than a patch-management workload metric would be an analytical error.

5.3 — Agentic AI as the operator, not the tool

Hugging Face disclosed that an autonomous AI agent system carried out a complete intrusion of its production infrastructure over a weekend, executing thousands of individual actions across ephemeral sandboxes.[2] Initial access came through two code-execution paths in the dataset-processing pipeline — a remote-code dataset loader and a template injection in a dataset configuration — which allowed execution on processing workers and escalation to node-level access. Credentials for cloud and cluster services were harvested; limited internal datasets were accessed.

Hugging Face states there is no evidence of tampering with public models, datasets, Spaces, or the software supply chain.[2] The most instructive detail in the disclosure is a defensive asymmetry the company describes candidly: safety guardrails on frontier models impeded Hugging Face's own forensic analysis of the attack logs, while the attacker's system operated without such constraints.

Section 06State-Sponsored Activity

Attribution is stated at the confidence level the underlying sources support — no upgrades.

Iran-affiliated — PLC targeting of US critical infrastructure

Critical
Confidence: HighConfirmed incidentActively exploited

A joint advisory (AA26-097A) originally issued 7 April was updated 22 July 2026, adding the Department of the Treasury as co-author alongside FBI, CISA, NSA, EPA, DOE and US Cyber Command–CNMF. The update broadened the affected manufacturer scope, added detection guidance for malicious changes in reusable code modules within Rockwell Automation PLC programs, and published refreshed indicators of compromise.[16][17]

  • Affected equipment: internet-exposed PLCs from Rockwell Automation/Allen-Bradley, Schneider Electric, and Siemens
  • Observed activity: unauthorized manipulation of PLC project files; deceptive data rendered on HMI and SCADA displays
  • Sectors affected: Water and Wastewater Systems, Energy, Government Services and Facilities
  • Reported consequences: operational disruption and direct financial loss at victim organizations

Why High confidence / Critical: Seven-agency US government attribution with victim-reported operational impact. This is confirmed interference with physical processes, which places it above espionage-only activity in defensive priority regardless of CVSS considerations.

Armored Likho (aka Eagle Werewolf) — AI-generated malware against power grids

High
Confidence: ModerateOngoing campaign

Kaspersky documented a previously unknown APT group targeting government agencies and electric power operators in Russia, Kazakhstan and Brazil, deploying AI-generated malware alongside a Python-based infostealer named BusySnake Stealer.[24][25]

  • Delivery: spear-phishing with NSIS-based executable droppers or malicious .lnk shortcut files
  • Capabilities: Chromium/Firefox credential theft, session cookie and OTP harvesting, Telegram session data collection, cryptocurrency wallet file discovery, reverse SSH tunnel establishment
  • Anti-analysis: obfuscated with PyArmor Pro 9.2.0, impeding dynamic analysis

Why Moderate confidence: Single-vendor original research (Kaspersky) without independent corroboration at time of writing. The technical findings are detailed and specific; the "AI-generated" characterization is a vendor assessment whose methodology is not fully public. State sponsorship is not established — this is a newly named cluster, and the targeting set (including Russia itself) does not fit a simple sponsor model.

CylindricalCanine (GoldenEyeDog subgroup) — certificate authority compromise

High
Confidence: ModerateHistorical activity newly disclosed

Expel attributed the April 2026 DigiCert support-portal breach to a cluster tracked as CylindricalCanine, assessed as a subgroup of the Chinese cybercrime collective GoldenEyeDog (also tracked as APT-Q-27, Dragon Breath, Miuuti Group).[26][27] A threat actor contacted DigiCert support via customer chat and delivered a ZIP archive disguised as a screenshot containing a malicious .scr payload, compromising two support-analyst workstations. A portal feature permitting analysts to view an account "as a customer" then exposed initialization codes for approved-but-undelivered EV code-signing certificates. DigiCert revoked 60 fraudulently obtained certificates, of which 27 were explicitly linked to this actor; the certificates were reportedly used to sign Zhong Stealer.

Why Moderate confidence / newly disclosed: The event occurred in April and is confirmed by DigiCert's own revocation actions. The attribution is a single-vendor assessment published in July. Included here as a material update, not a new July incident.

Additional state-nexus activity — lower confidence, monitoring

Medium
Confidence: Low–ModeratePartly verified
  • Screening Serpens (Iran-nexus) — Unit 42 documented six new RAT variants developed and deployed February–April 2026 against entities in the US, Israel and UAE. Activity predates this reporting window; noted for context.[28]
  • JadeProx (China-nexus) — reported use of a previously undocumented TriBack Loader against government, healthcare and education organizations in Asia and Latin America.[29]
  • Hospitality-sector DNS poisoning — ReliaQuest reported widespread DNS poisoning attacks against the hospitality sector as part of an espionage campaign. Actor attribution not established in available reporting.[30]

Why lower confidence: Each rests on a single vendor report without independent corroboration reviewed for this cycle. Included for awareness with attribution explicitly unresolved.

Section 07Cybercrime & Ransomware

7.1 — Ecosystem shape

As of June 2026, 146 ransomware groups had publicly claimed at least one victim.[22] Qilin and The Gentlemen traded the top position repeatedly through July, each claiming approximately 300 victims in Q2 alone.[23] Over the March 2025 – March 2026 span, the top five operations accounted for roughly 44% of 7,551 publicly disclosed victims: Qilin (1,358), Akira (749), INC Ransom (436), Play (422), SafePay (324).[22]

Data-quality caveat

All figures above derive from criminal leak-site monitoring. Groups inflate counts, re-list victims, claim organizations they merely scanned, and occasionally invent entries. Treat these as directional indicators of group activity, not victim census data. Victim counts that appear in ransom negotiations or regulatory filings are far more reliable.

7.2 — Anubis / Coca-Cola Fairlife

Food & beverage production disruption with regulatory disclosure

Critical
Confidence: HighConfirmed incident

This incident is unusually well-evidenced because it combines an SEC filing with attacker claims — allowing the two to be compared.

  • 16 July 2026 — Coca-Cola disclosed via SEC Form 8-K that attackers gained unauthorized access to a portion of Fairlife's systems, including production-related systems. US production was temporarily suspended; Canadian operations continued; product quality and safety were stated as unaffected.[31]
  • 20 July 2026 — The Anubis ransomware group listed Coca-Cola and Fairlife on its leak site.[32]
  • 21–22 July 2026 — Anubis publicly claimed responsibility, asserting it encrypted Fairlife's Nutanix systems and exfiltrated approximately 1 TB of data, with a stated deadline of 27 July.[32][33]

Confirmed vs claimed: The intrusion, production-system access and US production suspension are confirmed by the victim's own regulatory filing. The 1 TB exfiltration volume and Nutanix encryption specifics are attacker claims and are not independently verified.

7.3 — Speed: the Spirals case

A previously unseen Rust-based ransomware family, Spirals, was deployed in a double-extortion attack against a South Asian IT services company. The intrusion began 16 June at 22:21 local time via an internet-facing IIS server, where attackers uploaded an ASP.NET web shell. In a roughly three-hour interactive session they dumped the SAM hive, uninstalled endpoint security, disrupted backups and established covert remote access; full network encryption followed in under 24 hours from initial access.[34][35] The ransom note threatened publication after six days, with negotiation via a Tor portal.

7.4 — BlueHammer enters ransomware chains

CISA updated its KEV entry for CVE-2026-33825 ("BlueHammer") to record that the flaw is now leveraged in ransomware campaigns.[36][37] BlueHammer is a time-of-check-to-time-of-use race condition in Microsoft Defender permitting local privilege escalation to SYSTEM. Reported attack chains pair it with a Defender bypass tool ("UnDefend") and a Go-based C2 tunneling agent ("BeigeBurrow") to escalate, degrade antimalware coverage, dump credentials and stage ransomware.

Timeline note: the vulnerability was publicly disclosed 2 April by a researcher dissatisfied with Microsoft's handling of reports, patched 14 April, and KEV-listed 22 April. The July development is the ransomware-usage annotation, not the vulnerability itself.[37]

7.5 — Law enforcement and sanctions

Action
Detail
Date
Operation Eastwood
Europol-coordinated action against pro-Russian network NoName057(16); several hundred servers shut down worldwide, central server infrastructure taken offline[38]
14–17 Jul
DOJ indictment
Three Russian nationals and two bulletproof-hosting companies charged; $62M+ in US victim losses; 42 victims identified across 21 states including banks, schools, hospitals, government[39]
14 Jul
OFAC designations
First VPN Service (1VPNS) and administrator Dmytro Rashevskyi designated for selling services to ransomware groups; Yegeniy Vladimirovich Silayev designated for selling "cryptors"[40]
Mid-Jul
Referral Action Days
Nine-country Europol action against "The Com" ecosystem; 4,340 URLs flagged for removal[41]
Jun–Jul

Section 08Malware & Delivery Operations

Newly documented or newly prominent families in the reporting window.
Family
Characteristics
Status
BusySnake Stealer
Python infostealer; Chromium/Firefox credentials, cookies, OTP codes, Telegram sessions, crypto wallets, reverse SSH; PyArmor Pro 9.2.0 obfuscation[24]
New (Jul)
TriBack Loader
Previously undocumented Windows loader; government, healthcare, education targets in Asia and Latin America[29]
New (Jul)
CastleLoader / CastleBot
Multi-payload loader delivering NetSupport Manager, CastleRAT and a .NET infostealer; debuted in Red Canary's July top-10[42]
Newly prominent
ClearFake
JavaScript injected into compromised sites; fake CAPTCHA lures driving malicious copy-paste execution. Red Canary's #1 threat for the third consecutive month[42]
Sustained
KongTuke
Traffic distribution system abusing compromised WordPress sites; returned to Red Canary top-10 at #2[42]
Resurgent
RenPy Loader → Amatera Stealer
Fake game/mod/crack downloads; multi-stage chain abusing MSBuild and EtherHiding[43]
Active campaign
NadMesh botnet
Scans for exposed AI services to harvest cloud keys and Kubernetes tokens[44]
New (Jul)

Delivery-side note. A Microsoft 365 device-code phishing campaign using collaboration-themed lures was observed from the last week of June into early July, enabling full account takeover, BEC and lateral movement.[45] This aligns with the broader identity-attack pattern in which session-token theft — rather than credential theft — is the primary MFA-bypass mechanism.[46]

Section 09Vulnerability & Exploitation Radar

Every CISA KEV addition in the window, plus significant exploited flaws not yet KEV-listed. Exploitation status is stated precisely.

9.1 — CISA KEV additions, 1–23 July 2026

CVE
Product / Weakness
CVSS
KEV date
Status
2026-48282
Adobe ColdFusion — path traversal (CWE-22) → arbitrary code execution
10.0
7 Jul
Exploited
2026-48908
JoomShaper SP Page Builder — unrestricted dangerous file upload
7 Jul
Exploited
2026-55255
Langflow — authorization bypass via user-controlled key
7 Jul
Exploited
2026-56290
Joomlack Page Builder — improper access control
7 Jul
Exploited
2008-4128
Cisco IOS — cross-site request forgery (18-year-old CVE)
13 Jul
Exploited
2026-56164
Microsoft SharePoint Server — elevation of privilege / auth bypass
14 Jul
Exploited (0-day)
2023-4346
KNX protocol — overly restrictive account lockout (building automation)
15 Jul
Exploited
2026-46817
Oracle E-Business Suite (Payments) — improper privilege management
9.8
15 Jul
Exploited
2026-58644
Microsoft SharePoint Server — deserialization of untrusted data (CWE-502)
9.8
16 Jul
Exploited
2026-63030
WordPress Core — REST batch API route confusion ("wp2shell")
Critical
21 Jul
Exploited
2026-60137
WordPress Core — SQL injection in WP_Query ("wp2shell")
High
21 Jul
Exploited
2026-0770
Langflow — inclusion of functionality from untrusted control sphere
21 Jul
Exploited
2021-27137
DD-WRT firmware — stack-based buffer overflow
21 Jul
Exploited
2026-16232
Check Point SmartConsole — improper authentication (CWE-287)
9.1
22 Jul
Exploited (0-day)
2026-50522
Microsoft SharePoint Server — deserialization → RCE
9.8
22 Jul
Exploited after PoC

Sources for the KEV table: CISA alerts of 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, 21 and 22 July, corroborated by vendor advisories and reporting.[3][4][5][6][7][8][11][12][13][14] Dashes indicate no CVSS score was disclosed in the sources reviewed — an absent score is not evidence of low severity.

↔ Scroll to see the full chart
KEV additions by category — 1–23 July 2026 (n = 15) Microsoft 3 SharePoint ×3 Web CMS / plugins 4 WordPress ×2, Joomla ×2 AI / data platforms 2 Langflow ×2 Enterprise apps 3 ColdFusion, Oracle EBS, Check Point Network / IoT / OT 3 Cisco IOS, DD-WRT, KNX
Fig. 3 — Counted from the KEV table above. Note the presence of two legacy CVEs (2008, 2021) and one 2023 CVE: attackers continue to find value in old, unpatched estate.

9.2 — Significant exploited flaws beyond the KEV list

ServiceNow AI Platform — CVE-2026-6875

High
Confidence: HighActively exploited

A sandbox-escape vulnerability permitting unauthenticated arbitrary code execution in the ServiceNow AI Platform under certain conditions. ServiceNow released patches on 13 July with advisory KB3137947; Searchlight Cyber published technical exploitation detail the same day; Defused reported in-the-wild exploitation on 18 July.[15] Exposure is concentrated in self-hosted deployments that must patch manually.

Progress ShareFile Storage Zone Controller zero-day

High
Confidence: HighPatched; no confirmed compromise

Progress instructed customers to shut down ShareFile Storage Zone Controller servers on 10 July at 12:12 EDT after receiving warning of a "credible external security threat" — before any patch existed.[18][19] Investigation identified a high-severity vulnerability in versions 5.x and 6.x allowing attackers to read, write and map files on customer servers. Patches shipped in 5.12.5 and 6.0.2. Progress stated there is no evidence customer accounts or data were accessed.

Analytical note: A vendor instructing customers to take production systems offline before a patch exists is a rare and costly step. It signals the vendor assessed exploitation risk as severe. The "no evidence of access" statement is a genuine finding but is not equivalent to "no access occurred."

GhostLock — CVE-2026-43499 (Linux kernel container escape)

High
Confidence: ModeratePublic PoC only

Disclosed by Nebula Security's VEGA team on 7 July with full technical detail and open-source proof-of-concept code. Reported to break out of Docker and Kubernetes containers, with a working exploit granting root in approximately five seconds from any logged-in user, affecting a kernel code path reported to date from 2011.[20]

Status discipline: Public PoC exists. No confirmed in-the-wild exploitation was identified in sources reviewed for this cycle. Given KJ-2, absence of confirmed exploitation should not be read as absence of risk.

Google Chrome — CVE-2026-11645

Medium
Confidence: HighActively exploited

High-severity out-of-bounds read/write in V8 permitting arbitrary code execution inside the sandbox via a crafted HTML page. The fifth Chrome zero-day exploited in 2026 (following CVE-2026-2441, -3909, -3910, -5281). Fixed in 149.0.7827.102/.103.[47]

9.3 — Oracle PeopleSoft: a material update, not a new event

Oracle's July Critical Patch Update closed the vulnerability chain that the extortion group ShinyHunters (tracked by Mandiant as UNC6240) used to compromise more than 300 PeopleSoft servers across 100+ organizations.[48][49] The core flaw, CVE-2026-35273 (CVSS 9.8), is a PeopleTools privilege-escalation issue remotely exploitable by an unauthenticated attacker over HTTP.

Correct dating matters here. The exploitation window ran 27 May – 9 June 2026; Oracle issued a rare out-of-band alert on 10 June. The education sector, particularly universities, bore the brunt. The July event is the permanent fix, not the breach. Reporting that presents this as a July compromise is misdating a June campaign.

Section 10Cloud, Identity, Supply Chain & AI Threats

10.1 — Open-source ecosystem: four waves in five weeks

Four distinct npm/PyPI compromise campaigns ran from early June through 14 July, escalating in sophistication:[21]

Wave
Technique
Date
Hades worm (PyPI)
Miasma variant using *-setup.pth files to auto-execute at Python startup — defeats install-script suppression; ~29 packages across bioinformatics/ML
Early Jun
Fake payment SDKs
~17 packages impersonating PaySafe/Skrill/Neteller; returned legitimate responses while harvesting AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY, GITHUB_TOKEN, NPM_TOKEN
7 Jul
Jscrambler compromise
Stolen publishing credentials; five malicious versions plus poisoned webpack/gulp/grunt/metro plugins; targeted crypto wallets and AI coding assistant credential stores (Claude Desktop, Cursor, Windsurf)
11 Jul
AsyncAPI CI hijack
pull_request_target misconfiguration → stolen bot PAT → malicious releases published through the legitimate pipeline, carrying valid Sigstore/SLSA provenance; 4 packages, 2.25M+ weekly downloads, live ~4 hours
14 Jul
The load-bearing insight

Wave 4 is the one that should change controls. The malicious builds were correctly signed — the attacker did not defeat cryptography, they became the signer. Provenance attestation answers "did this come from the expected pipeline," not "is the pipeline trustworthy." Behavioural analysis of dependency updates is not optional supplementary control; for this attack class it is the only control that fires.

10.2 — Identity and cloud

  • Cloud Accounts ranked as the most prevalent ATT&CK technique for the second consecutive year in Red Canary's telemetry.[42]
  • Session-token theft is the dominant MFA-bypass mechanism, with Microsoft's 2025 Digital Defense Report attributing 80% of recent MFA-bypass breaches to token theft via adversary-in-the-middle kits.[46]
  • NadMesh botnet scans specifically for exposed AI services to harvest cloud keys and Kubernetes service-account tokens[44] — a supply of credentials feeding directly into the container-to-cloud escalation path.

10.3 — AI systems as targets

Beyond the Hugging Face intrusion (§5.3), the reporting window shows AI infrastructure emerging as a first-class target rather than a novelty: two Langflow CVEs entered KEV within the month (CVE-2026-55255, CVE-2026-0770), the ServiceNow flaw sits in an AI Platform component, and NadMesh hunts AI service exposure. The pattern is consistent — AI-adjacent components are being deployed internet-facing faster than they are being hardened.

Section 11OT / ICS & Critical Infrastructure

The Iranian-affiliated PLC campaign (§6) is the dominant OT story and is covered there. Two additional signals belong here:

  • CVE-2023-4346 (KNX protocol) entering KEV on 15 July is noteworthy out of proportion to its profile. KNX is a building-automation standard; an account-lockout weakness being actively exploited indicates attacker interest in building-management systems, a historically under-monitored estate that frequently sits outside both IT and OT security programmes.
  • Armored Likho's targeting of electric power operators across three countries (§6) reinforces that grid operators outside the traditional NATO/US threat picture — Kazakhstan, Brazil — are within scope for capable actors.[24]

Latvia's state-owned forestry company Latvijas Valsts Meži also disclosed a ransomware incident in which attackers exploited an unpatched system reportedly present for two years, with approximately 44 GB of internal documents, credentials, cryptographic keys, source code and email correspondence leaked.[50] Confidence: Moderate — leak volume and dwell-time figures derive from reporting rather than victim confirmation.

Section 12Confirmed Incident Ledger

Incidents with a named victim. "Confirmed" means the victim, a regulator, or law enforcement acknowledged it — not that an attacker claimed it.
Organization
Detail
Scale
Evidence
Coca-Cola / Fairlife
Anubis ransomware; production systems accessed, US production temporarily suspended
1 TB claimed
SEC 8-K — confirmed
Hugging Face
Autonomous AI agent intrusion; internal datasets accessed, cloud/cluster credentials harvested
Limited internal
First-party — confirmed
Conduent
Breach population expanded substantially in later healthcare reporting
62.2M
Reported — partly verified
Suno
Credential theft of one employee login → outdated source code access; emails, phones, addresses, purchases, partial card data. Company stated individual notice was not legally required
55.3M
HIBP-indexed 20 Jul
Paidwork
Intrusion March 2026, database advertised April, leaked July; names, addresses, DOB, bank account numbers, transactions, hashed passwords
23.3M
Reported — partly verified
KDDI
Email system shared across five ISPs accessed
14.2M
Reported — partly verified
Origin Energy (AU)
Attacker claims customer data theft with leak threat
2M claimed
Attacker claim — unconfirmed
PeopleSoft estate
ShinyHunters / UNC6240 via CVE-2026-35273; universities and public bodies predominantly
300 servers / 100+ orgs
Mandiant — confirmed (June)
Latvijas Valsts Meži
Ransomware via 2-year-unpatched system; documents, credentials, keys, source code leaked
~44 GB
Reported — partly verified
Indra Group (ES)
Defence/aerospace contractor; one subsidiary affected, The Gentlemen threatening leak
Not disclosed
Reported — partly verified
Nidec (JP/TW)
Ransomware affecting Taiwanese subsidiary network
Not disclosed
Reported — partly verified
River Bank & Trust (US)
Parent company breached 16 June; ransomware found on portions of bank server environment
Not disclosed
Reported — partly verified
↔ Scroll to see the full chart
Records exposed — largest disclosed populations (millions) Conduent 62.2M Suno 55.3M Paidwork 23.3M KDDI 14.2M Origin Energy 2M (attacker claim, unconfirmed) Grey = unconfirmed. Suno figure reflects a Nov 2025 breach indexed to HIBP in July, not a new July intrusion.
Fig. 4 — Disclosed record counts. Bar colour encodes evidence quality, not severity.

Section 13Regional Intelligence

13.1 — Morocco

Continued leaks attributed to "JabaRoot DZ"

Medium
Confidence: LowUnconfirmed / date uncertain

Reporting describes leaked documents concerning high-value transactions involving Moroccan political figures, said to originate from Tawtik, the official digital notarial platform managed by the National Agency for Land Conservation, Cadastre and Mapping (ANCFCC), attributed to an actor known as JabaRoot DZ.[51][52]

This follows a documented series of intrusions against Moroccan state institutions including the National Social Security Fund (CNSS), ANCFCC and the Ministry of Justice, occurring amid Morocco–Algeria tensions over Western Sahara.[52][53] Morocco has publicly characterised the campaign as criminal and has launched a national cybersecurity strategy in response.[54]

Why Low confidence — stated plainly: Sources reviewed for the specific July leak reference a "July 17" date, but at least one carries a 2025 publication path. I could not conclusively establish whether the specific July 17 leak falls in 2026 or 2025. The broader campaign against Moroccan state institutions is well-documented; this particular incident's placement inside this reporting window is not established and should not be treated as confirmed until better-sourced. Flagged as an open collection requirement (§17).

13.2 — Europe

Europe saw the month's most substantial law-enforcement activity (§7.5), with Operation Eastwood dismantling NoName057(16) infrastructure across 14–17 July. On the victim side, Spanish defence contractor Indra Group and Latvia's state forestry company were both affected by ransomware, and the KNX building-automation KEV entry has particular relevance for European commercial real estate where KNX deployment is widespread.

13.3 — Asia-Pacific

Japanese telecom KDDI disclosed a breach affecting an email system shared across five ISPs; Japanese manufacturer Nidec's Taiwanese subsidiary was hit by ransomware; the Spirals ransomware victim was a South Asian IT services provider; and TriBack Loader activity concentrated on Asian government, healthcare and education targets.

Section 14MITRE ATT&CK Coverage

Techniques evidenced across this month's incidents, for coverage-mapping and detection-gap analysis.
T1190
Exploit Public-Facing ApplicationSharePoint ×4, ColdFusion, Oracle EBS, ServiceNow, WordPress, Check Point SmartConsole, Spirals' IIS entry point.
T1059
Command and Scripting InterpreterDeserialization gadget chains; ClearFake's malicious copy-paste execution; MSBuild abuse in RenPy chain.
T1505.003
Server Software Component: Web ShellSpirals ASP.NET web shell on internet-facing IIS; SharePoint post-exploitation.
T1552.004
Unsecured Credentials: Private KeysASP.NET machine key theft across the SharePoint cluster.
T1550.001
Use Alternate Auth Material: Application Access TokenForged __VIEWSTATE/auth tokens surviving patch; Check Point application login token abuse.
T1539
Steal Web Session CookieAiTM session-token theft driving 80% of MFA-bypass breaches; BusySnake cookie/OTP harvesting.
T1003.002
OS Credential Dumping: SAMSpirals pre-encryption phase.
T1068
Exploitation for Privilege EscalationBlueHammer TOCTOU → SYSTEM; GhostLock container escape → root.
T1562.001
Impair Defenses: Disable or Modify ToolsSpirals uninstalling endpoint security; "UnDefend" Defender bypass in BlueHammer chains.
T1553.002
Subvert Trust Controls: Code SigningDigiCert certificate theft used to sign Zhong Stealer; AsyncAPI packages signed with valid provenance.
T1195.002
Supply Chain Compromise: Software Supply ChainAll four npm/PyPI waves.
T1569.002
System Services: Service ExecutionSpirals PsExec lateral movement.
T1490
Inhibit System RecoverySpirals backup disruption prior to encryption.
T0831 / T0832
ICS: Manipulation of Control / ViewIranian PLC campaign — project file manipulation and deceptive HMI/SCADA rendering.
↔ Scroll to see the full chart
Kill-chain coverage — July 2026 incidents InitialAccess Execution Persistence Priv.Escalation DefenseEvasion CredentialAccess LateralMovement Exfil Impact Dark red = evidenced by multiple independent July incidents. Orange = evidenced by one. Every stage saw activity this month — unusual, and driven by the breadth of the SharePoint and ransomware clusters.
Fig. 5 — Unlike a typical month, no kill-chain stage lacked evidenced activity in July 2026.

Section 15Defensive Priorities

Ordered by expected risk reduction per unit of effort, based on this month's evidence.
  • 01Treat SharePoint as an IR matter, not a patch matter. Patch all four CVEs, then hunt, then evict, then rotate ASP.NET machine keys — in that order. Rotating before eviction hands the attacker the new keys.
  • 02Inventory internet-exposed management planes. Check Point SmartConsole, ServiceNow self-hosted, Oracle EBS, ColdFusion and ShareFile were all exploited or emergency-patched this month. Management interfaces reachable from the internet are the month's common denominator.
  • 03Remove PLCs from direct internet exposure and apply the refreshed AA26-097A detection guidance, including checks for malicious changes in reusable code modules within Rockwell PLC programs.
  • 04Compress your emergency patch SLA for internet-facing software to 72 hours or less. Three independent July cases showed exploitation within hours-to-days of public technical detail.
  • 05Add behavioural dependency screening. Sigstore/SLSA provenance did not stop wave 4. Watch for post-install network egress, credential-store access, and AI-assistant config file reads by build-time dependencies.
  • 06Audit CI/CD trigger configuration, specifically pull_request_target usage and the scope of bot personal access tokens. The AsyncAPI pattern is directly reusable against any similarly configured repository.
  • 07Prioritise session-token protections over additional MFA factors. With 80% of MFA-bypass breaches attributed to token theft, token binding and conditional access carry more marginal value than another factor.
  • 08Do not neglect legacy estate. Three KEV additions this month were CVEs from 2008, 2021 and 2023. Attackers are still finding unpatched old systems and monetising them.

Section 16Detection & Threat-Hunting Opportunities

Defensive logic only. Nothing in this section assists exploitation.

16.1 — Vendor detections available

Microsoft Defender ships signatures relevant to the SharePoint exploitation cluster, including Exploit:Script/ToolPaneAuthBypass.A, Exploit:Script/ToolPaneAuthBypass and Exploit:Script/SuspSignoutReqBody.A.[10] Confirm AMSI integration is enabled for every SharePoint web application — without it, script-level visibility is substantially reduced.

16.2 — Hunt hypotheses

  • IIS worker spawning interpreters. w3wp.exe spawning cmd.exe, PowerShell or script engines is the highest-yield single hunt this month — it fires on both the SharePoint cluster and the Spirals entry point.
  • Unexpected .aspx writes into SharePoint or IIS web-accessible directories outside deployment windows.
  • Post-patch anomalous authentication. Valid sessions with no corresponding interactive logon are the signature of forged-token access. This is the hunt that catches machine-key theft after patching.
  • Check Point management plane. Review administrator, SmartConsole, API and application-token activity, particularly where the Management Server has been internet-reachable and Trusted Clients is unrestricted.
  • Build-time egress. Outbound connections initiated during npm install/pip install, and any dependency process reading ~/.aws, ~/.ssh, or AI-assistant configuration directories.
  • OT. Baseline PLC project files and alert on modification; compare HMI-rendered values against independent process telemetry where available — the Iranian campaign specifically manipulated displayed data.

16.3 — Sample detection logic

Generic Sigma rule for the IIS-webshell-to-interpreter pattern common to this month's SharePoint and Spirals activity. This targets the technique, not any specific actor's indicators:

title: IIS Worker Process Spawning Command Interpreter
id: 7c1e2f3a-0000-4e1a-9c2d-b1a2c3d4e5f6
status: experimental
description: Detects w3wp.exe spawning a command interpreter, a common
    signal of interactive web shell use. Observed in the July 2026
    SharePoint exploitation cluster and the Spirals ransomware intrusion.
author: Omar Babba
date: 2026-07-23
tags:
    - attack.persistence
    - attack.t1505.003
    - attack.execution
    - attack.t1059
logsource:
    category: process_creation
    product: windows
detection:
    selection:
        ParentImage|endswith: '\w3wp.exe'
        Image|endswith:
            - '\cmd.exe'
            - '\powershell.exe'
            - '\powershell_ise.exe'
    condition: selection
falsepositives:
    - IIS management extensions that legitimately shell out
    - Some application deployment tooling
level: high

Tune against your own baseline before enabling in production. Pair with a second rule watching for PSEXESVC service creation on the same host within a short window — that two-step sequence is what Spirals used to spread prior to encryption.

Section 17Outlook & Intelligence Requirements

17.1 — Forecasts

The following are analytical judgments about future events, explicitly marked as forecast, not fact.

  • Likely (high confidence). Additional SharePoint CVEs will surface in the next 60 days. The cluster's pattern — patch, bypass, patch — mirrors the 2025 "ToolShell" chain, where fixes were repeatedly circumvented. The underlying deserialization attack surface appears not to be exhausted.
  • Likely (moderate confidence). GhostLock will see in-the-wild exploitation. A public PoC granting root in seconds against a widely deployed container substrate, in a month where three other PoCs were weaponised within days, is unlikely to remain theoretical.
  • Possible (low confidence). Further agentic-AI intrusions will be disclosed. The Hugging Face case may be the first disclosure rather than the first occurrence — but a single data point cannot establish a rate, and disclosure incentives are weak.
  • Watch item. The Anubis/Fairlife deadline of 27 July falls outside this reporting window. Whether data is published will indicate whether negotiation occurred.

17.2 — Open collection requirements

  1. Morocco / JabaRoot DZ dating. Establish definitively whether the Tawtik/ANCFCC leak reported around 17 July belongs to 2026 or 2025 (§13.1). Primary Moroccan government or CERT sourcing needed.
  2. Armored Likho corroboration. Independent confirmation of Kaspersky's findings, and clarification of the evidentiary basis for the "AI-generated malware" characterisation.
  3. SharePoint compromise scale. No reliable figure exists for how many servers were compromised before patching — only exposure counts. Post-patch forged-token access would be largely invisible in current public telemetry.
  4. GhostLock exploitation status. Active monitoring for first confirmed in-the-wild use.
  5. Conduent breach. The 62.2M figure requires confirmation against regulatory filings rather than aggregated reporting.

Section 18Evidence Register

All sources cited above, numbered as referenced. P = primary (government, vendor advisory, first-party disclosure, original research on own telemetry). S = secondary.
Link validation — performed 23 July 2026

All 75 citation URLs were tested programmatically before publication. One broken link was found and fixed (The Register, entry [49] — a transcription error on my part, not a dead page). Approximately 22 sources return HTTP 403 to automated requests — BleepingComputer, SecurityWeek, SEC.gov, Microsoft, Dark Reading, TechRepublic and others actively block non-browser user agents. These pages load normally in a browser; the 403 is anti-scraping, not a dead link. One source (CISA AA26-097A, entry [16]) blocked direct retrieval entirely and was verified through corroborating sources instead, as noted in its register entry.

Vulnerabilities & Advisories
Nation-State & OT / ICS
Ransomware, Cybercrime & Law Enforcement
Malware, Supply Chain & AI
Breaches
Regional — Morocco

Section 19Auditable Source-Coverage Summary

Real numbers. Where a figure is an estimate, it is labelled as one.
Metric
Basis
Count
Distinct source organizations encountered
Unique publishers surfaced across all collection sweeps (estimate)
~110
Individual pages/feeds surfaced
Result entries returned across 24 structured queries (estimate)
~215
Sources retrieved in full text
Complete document retrieval for verification
11
Unique evidence sources cited
Numbered entries in §18 (exact, machine-counted; includes §21 addendum)
97
— of which primary
Government, vendor advisory, first-party, original research
38
— of which secondary
Reputable reporting on others' findings
59
In-body footnote references
All verified to resolve to a defined register anchor — zero broken
54
Candidate developments collected
Distinct events/findings identified during sweeps, incl. §21 addendum
86
Developments included
Meeting window + evidence threshold
66
Developments excluded
Out of window, unverifiable, duplicate, or vendor-listicle (not a discrete event)
20
Sources that could not be accessed
CISA AA26-097A returned HTTP 403 on direct fetch; content verified via corroborating sources
1
Statement on the 200–300 source target

This report did not review 200–300 sources to the standard that phrase implies, and does not claim to have done so. Approximately 110 distinct organizations were encountered during collection and 75 are cited as evidence, of which 11 were retrieved in full text for verification.

A larger number could have been produced by counting every search-result entry as a "reviewed source." That would have been dishonest, and a CTI product whose source count cannot be trusted has no basis on which its findings can be trusted either.

Section 20Correction & Update Policy

This report is a living document. Where new evidence contradicts a finding here, the finding will be corrected in place, with the correction logged and dated rather than silently edited — so readers can see what changed and when.

  • Reporting window: 1–23 July 2026, core report. Verified as of 23 July 2026.
  • Update applied: 26 July 2026 — §21 addendum extends coverage through 26 July with 22 additional sourced items.
  • Corrections: email omarbabba27@gmail.com with the claim, the correcting source, and the URL. Substantive corrections are published with attribution to the person who reported them unless anonymity is requested.
  • Confidence changes: if an item's confidence level changes, both the old and new level will be shown.

Section 21Addendum — 24–26 July 2026 Extension

Added 26 July 2026, fulfilling the extension planned in §20. Triggered by a cross-check against a third-party weekly cybersecurity roundup; every item below was independently re-verified against its own primary or named-outlet source before inclusion — the roundup itself is not cited as evidence.

22 stories below fall in the 24–26 July window (plus a small number dated slightly earlier that the original 1–23 July sweep missed) and meet this report's evidence threshold. Three items from the roundup were not added: three "top 10 vendor" listicles (ITDR platforms, physical-penetration-testing firms, 24/7 SOC monitoring providers) are vendor-comparison content, not discrete threat events, and fall outside this report's scope. Microsoft's Teams helpdesk-impersonation advisory (s95 below) is included for completeness but is dated March–April 2026, not July — it is an ongoing campaign pattern, not a new-this-window event.

21.1 — AI-related threats

  • Claude Opus jailbroken into a commercial AI pentest platform. A Russian-speaking actor ("Trim") spent 2026 publishing jailbreak techniques against Claude Opus, then shipped "AI Pentest Checker," a commercial vulnerability-scanning product built on a $4 grey-market API key rather than any compromise of Anthropic's infrastructure. [81] High confidence
  • SectopRAT delivered via fake Claude Desktop installer ("FakeAgent"). A malvertising campaign used a Bing-ads-promoted, claude.ai-hosted Artifact impersonating the Claude Desktop installer to compromise at least 29 organizations with an HVNC-capable info-stealer before Anthropic removed it on 22 July. [82] High confidence — first-party (Huntress) telemetry
  • Kimi K3 autonomously found real Redis RCE flaws in 27 minutes. Moonshot AI's model cloned Redis, fuzzed it, and debugged crashes with GDB in an authorized test environment, surfacing RCE-class bugs across four Redis versions; Redis shipped seven fixes on 23 July. [83] Moderate confidence — vendor-reported, not independently reproduced by this report
  • APT42 (Iran) pairs AI-generated phishing with an expanded TAMECAT backdoor. The modular PowerShell implant now harvests browser cookies — surviving a password reset — and researchers report the group using generative AI across target research, lure writing, and malware engineering, with family members of defense/diplomatic targets newly in scope. [84] High confidence
  • Google's CodeMender agent entered public preview (21 Jul). Scans repositories, builds a proof-of-concept exploit in an isolated sandbox to confirm real exploitability, then generates a patch for developer review — first-party vendor disclosure. [85] High confidence — first-party
  • CAISI (the US AI Safety Institute successor) lost its director after three months. Chris Fall's resignation was not explained by Commerce; NIST's director is acting head pending a permanent replacement. Relevant as a governance signal, not a technical threat. [96] Policy note, not a threat event

21.2 — Vulnerabilities & exploitation

  • Cl0p exploiting PTC Windchill/FlexPLM (CVE-2026-12569, CVSS 9.8). A pre-auth deserialization chain across the FlexPLM WSDL endpoint and the Windchill login servlet deploys hex-named JSP webshells; targets manufacturing, automotive, and aerospace product-lifecycle data. Added to CISA KEV 25 June; campaign activity continued into the report's extension window. [76] High confidence
  • SonicWall SMA 1000-series zero-days (root access, ORANGETAIL webshell). Threat actor UTA0533 chained an SSRF and a command-injection flaw against SMA 6210/7210/8200 appliances from ~22 June, three weeks before SonicWall's 14 July disclosure and hotfix. ORANGETAIL mimics the Behinder framework and only answers requests bearing a specific user-agent. [77] High confidence — vendor + Volexity telemetry
  • Adobe Acrobat Chrome extension — "HermeticReader" (CVE-2026-48294, CVSS 7.4). A messaging-validation gap in Acrobat's new WhatsApp-Web integration ("Hermes") let any malicious page silently read WhatsApp Web chats/contacts across the extension's ~329M install base. Patched same-weekend as disclosure, in 26.5.2.3. [80] High confidence
  • Foxit PDF Reader/Editor updater DLL sideloading (CVE-2026-57239). The SYSTEM-privileged update service loads DLLs from a user-writable ProgramData path, letting a local low-privileged attacker escalate to SYSTEM. Fixed in 2026.2. [86] Moderate confidence — local-privesc only, requires prior code execution
  • FreePBX: unauthenticated RCE + hard-coded credentials. Two Sangoma advisories: a socket.io auth-stripping regression in the UCP Node server (FreePBX 17 < 17.0.9) enabling unauthenticated AMI command injection, and hard-coded creds in the userman module (CVE-2026-46376, CVSS 9.3) exposing the User Control Panel on installs using the generic template. [87] High confidence
  • Zimbra 10.1.20 — critical SNMP command injection + 4× stored XSS. Command injection in the SNMP monitoring component (enabled by default in some configs) can lead to full server compromise; released 20 July. [88] High confidence — vendor advisory, primary
  • Meta — IDOR in customer-support case handling ($78,000 bounty). Sequential, unauthorized support-case IDs allowed enumeration of support conversations, attachments, and PII; Meta patched in April 2026, found no evidence of exploitation, and disclosed/paid in July. Included for completeness though the underlying fix predates this window. [89] High confidence — vendor-confirmed, no evidence of exploitation

21.3 — Malware & campaigns

  • HOLLOWGRAPH — Microsoft Graph/M365 calendar as covert two-way C2. A .NET NativeAOT DLL attributed with high confidence to the Cavern backdoor framework, using calendar-event attachments (dated far in the future — 13 May 2050 — to stay off any real schedule view) as an encrypted dead drop, with RSA-OAEP-wrapped AES-256-GCM payloads and a DNS-tunneling fallback for credential refresh. Group-IB assesses the ~12 identified victims as Israel-focused. [90] High confidence — first-party vendor research
  • OTTERCOOKIE hidden in SVG "flag" images (Contagious Interview / DPRK). Fake coding-test lures ship an SVG containing Base64 fragments inside HTML comments; a bundled serverValidation.js reassembles and executes a four-stage payload (credential/wallet stealer, file stealer, Socket.IO RAT, clipboard stealer) with zero AV detections reported at time of analysis. [91] High confidence — first-party vendor research (Elastic Security Labs)

21.4 — Breaches & incidents

  • South Korea — Korea National Diplomatic Academy breach, ~10 months undetected. Zero-day plus weak segmentation gave an attacker access from roughly April 2025 to February 2026 on a server excluded from routine security scrutiny because it sat inside MFA HQ; up to ~10,000 diplomat/staff records exposed. Discovered by a separate government authority, not MoFA itself. [92] High confidence — government-confirmed
  • Craneware (healthcare billing/revenue-cycle vendor) — data exfiltration. Disclosed 20 July; a subset of employee, customer, and partner data was exfiltrated. Craneware serves billing systems for ~2,000 US hospitals and ~10,000 clinics/pharmacies; the company states most exfiltrated file names are non-sensitive or already-public regulatory content, and reports no service disruption. [93] Moderate confidence — vendor self-disclosure, scale not independently confirmed

21.5 — Law enforcement & other

  • Three Russian nationals + 2 bulletproof-hosting companies indicted (>$62M in losses). DOJ indictment (returned Dec 2024, unsealed 14 July 2026) against Media Land LLC / ML.Cloud LLC operators for hosting infrastructure behind ransomware, malware, and phishing operations against 44 victims — banks, schools, hospitals — across 21 US states. [79] High confidence — DOJ primary source
  • Kyle Svara (Illinois) sentenced — Snapchat phishing, 517 accounts compromised. Impersonated Snap support via text to harvest 2FA codes from over 4,500 targeted users; ~570 provided codes, 517 accounts were accessed and stripped of private images. Sentenced 21 July to 76 months. [94] High confidence — DOJ primary source
  • KARR aftermarket alarm system — shared Bluetooth key affects 2.2M+ vehicles (dealer-installed, mainly Southern California Honda/Toyota/Mazda/Ford/Jeep). UCSD researchers reverse-engineered a key shared across all KARR units, enabling unlock/immobilize/horn-and-light commands from ~5 yards away; Acrisure knew since January 2025 but patched only 20 July 2026, ahead of DEF CON/USENIX disclosure. Physical/IoT risk, not a network intrusion. [78] High confidence
  • Microsoft Teams helpdesk impersonation (UNC6692 / cross-tenant pattern). Attackers cold-message employees over Teams posing as IT support to get Quick Assist or remote-session approval, then run signed-vendor tooling alongside attacker modules. Dated March–April 2026 in Microsoft's own reporting — included here for the roundup cross-check, but it is not a new development inside this report's window. [95] Ongoing pattern, not a new-window event
  • LG Monitor App Installer silently pushes McAfee adware via Windows Update. Connecting an LG UltraGear 34GX900A-B triggers an unprompted install requesting "all system resources," geolocation, and contact-data permissions, then surfaces McAfee trial pop-ups. Microsoft says LG has agreed to drop the pop-up; the underlying permission scope was not reported as resolved. [97] Moderate confidence — consumer-privacy issue, not an active-exploitation threat
This is open-source intelligence synthesis produced for a SOC and detection-engineering audience. It is not original malware research, and it is not a substitute for your organisation's incident response procedures or for the vendor and government advisories cited throughout. Where this report and a primary advisory disagree, follow the advisory. Analytical judgments are the author's own and are labelled as such; facts are cited to source.